Jimmy Guterman's blog

media, technology, management, and the rest of it

Audience!

leave a comment »

I’m tightening the ideas and removing the crap from a presentation workshop I’m running on Monday. It would be bad, after all, to give a bad presentation about giving good presentations. While doing so, I realized I wasn’t emphasizing audience enough: understanding who you’re presenting to and what they need, focusing on their needs and not yours. Whenever I want to show clients the value of obsessing over what the  audience wants and needs, I call in a great quote that you can find in Nancy Duarte‘s outstanding and welcoming HBR Guide to Persuasive Presentations. In her book, Duarte quotes Ken Haemer, presentation research manager at AT&T:

“Designing a presentation without an audience in mind is like writing a love letter and addressing it ‘to whom it may concern.’”

Think about that the next time you’re in front of other people. Or the next time you’re writing or doing anything for other people.

Written by guterman

March 8, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Posted in work, writing

Leave a comment