Jimmy Guterman's blog

media, technology, management, and the rest of it

Sentence #1

with 18 comments

As many of you know, I’ve been trying to write a novel that doesn’t stink. I’ve considered several ways to track its progress (or lack thereof) here. I thought of delivering daily reports (“Figured out a plot point, but now I have to redo that transition scene in Chapter 7.”) or maybe numerical updates (“Wrote 1,403 words, 263 of them worth using.”)

Jane led me to a better idea. She said I should post excerpts, which I’m not ready to do. But I am ready to post a sentence a day from my writing each day. I will present those sentences completely out of context, giving no real clues at to what’s happening in the broader text, but I wonder whether, a year from now, after you’ve read 365 disconnected sentences, you might have a tiny idea of what I’m trying to do. At the very least, it’s a structure that will force me to show at least some progress every day, even if I share only a sliver of it. So, here’s today’s sentence:

“I wanna be like that.”

Seeya tomorrow.

Written by guterman

November 6, 2007 at 4:02 pm

Posted in novel

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] time to return to this exercise, as descibed here.) Posted by guterman Filed in […]

  2. […] (What are these sentences?) Posted by guterman Filed in novel […]

  3. […] I’m going to try to post a new one every day. (What are these sentences?) […]

  4. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  5. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  6. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  7. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  8. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  9. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  10. […] (What are these sentences?) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Two more sentences from the novel-in-progressDialogue you can hear only in the office of a fictional record companyToday’s gnomic sentence […]

  11. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  12. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  13. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  14. […] (What are these sentences?) […]

  15. […] (What are these sentences?) […]


Leave a comment